Blaq Spirit Vol.1

About Album

ElectricMELT was the electronic music and remix extension of the eclectic MELT 2000 label which commissioned its first remixes way back in 1996 when the album MUSIC WITH NO NAME Vol. 1 hit the club scenes in London, San Francisco, Tokyo and Johannesburg. It started off with a remix by Madala Kunene called Ubombo and went all the way trough until 2010. The Generation Z or the Millennium children like my son Nico Tando missed out on a lot of these 90’s remixes. The compilation series BLACK SPIRIT presents a total of 10 volumes paying tribute to the pioneers who remixed some of the finest World and Jazz artists like Madala Kunene, Busi Mhlongo, Moses Taiwa Molelekwa, Mabi Gabriel Thobejane, Amampondo or Smadj whose works were released on MELT 2000. Pioneering producers and remixers from the Millennium era featured in the BLAQ SPIRIT Series are a.o. Smith & Mighty, Roni Size, Soul II Soul, DJ Smash, Nkokhi, Frederic Galliano, Ashley Beedle, Castro B, Blaq Soul, Krishna Booker, Richard E, Gabriel LeMar, Flipper Dalton, Black Coffee, Infinite Boys, Sumtyn Black, Greg Hunter, Soldiers of House, Itumeleng Riba, Gus Gus, Tony Thorpe, Codetripper, Kalahari Surfers, DJ Sobz, Mama Dance, Gabi LeRoux, Culoe de Song, Mario Cee (Badbox) or Soul Junky.

Back to top